Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

19 countries in European Region participated in the global OPV switch

Recommended Posts

Every country or territory in the world that was using trivalent oral polio vaccine (OPV) (containing all three serotypes of poliovirus) was scheduled to withdraw this vaccine from their immunization programmes and activities on one appointed day in the 2-week period 17 April –1 May 2016. They were to replace the vaccine with bivalent OPV – containing only types 1 and 3 – or move to an immunization schedule with only the inactivated form of polio vaccine (IPV). 19 of these countries are located in the WHO European Region.

As of 2 May 2016, 150 of the 155 countries and territories have confirmed that they are no longer using tOPV.

See live tracking of switch across the world: http://maps.who.int/OPV_switch/

More information on the switch in the European Region will be posted on this Forum in the coming days. 

Edited by Catharina de Kat

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this